Departmental Honors Advisors

 


If you have questions or concerns specifically about your major or minor, please contact the departmental honors advisor for the relevant department.  To make an appointment with a departmental honors advisor, please call or e-mail that advisor.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

MAJORS

Actuarial Science

First Contact
Athena Yiamouyiannis, 250 Mathematics Building, 231 West 18th Avenue, 614-292-6994, yiamouyiannis.1@osu.edu

Second Contact
Chunsheng Ban, 210 Mathematics Building, 231 West 18th Avenue, 614-292-5331, ban.1@osu.edu

African American and African Studies

TBA

Air Transportation

Mathew Coleman, 1036 Derby Hall, 154 North Oval Mall, 614-292-9686, coleman.373@osu.edu

Nancy Coscia, 1105 Derby Hall, 154 North Oval Mall, 614-292-6961, coscia.4@osu.edu

Anthropology and Anthropological Sciences

Richard Yerkes, 4008 Smith Laboratory, 174 West 18th Avenue, (for appointments, please email), yerkes.1@osu.edu

Arabic

Daniel Frank, 316 Hagerty Hall, 1775 College Road, 614-292-7494, frank.152@osu.edu

Astronomy and Astrophysics

Donald Terndrup, 4033 McPherson Laboratory, 140 West 18th Avenue, 614-292-4579, terndrup.1@osu.edu

Atmospheric Sciences

Mathew Coleman, 1036 Derby Hall, 154 North Oval Mall, 614-292-9686, coleman.373@osu.edu

Nancy Coscia, 1105 Derby Hall, 154 North Oval Mall, 614-292-6961, coscia.4@osu.edu

Biochemistry

Angela LeCount Melamed (First Contact):
110 Celeste Laboratory, 120 West 18th Avenue, 614-292-1204, lecountmelamed.1@osu.edu

Students graduating 2018 please contact:
Richard Swenson, 776 Biological Sciences Building, 484 West 12th Avenue, 614-292-9428, swenson.1@osu.edu

Students graduating 2019 or 2020 please contact:
Jane Jackman, 740 Biological Sciences Building, 484 West 12th Avenue, 614-247-8097, jackman.14@osu.edu

Students graduating 2021 or 2022 please contact:
Venkat Gopalan, 774 Biological Sciences Building, 484 West 12th Avenue, 614-292-1332, gopalan.5@osu.edu

Students graduating 2023  or 2024 please contact:
Richard Swenson, 776 Biological Sciences Building, 484 West 12th Avenue, 614-292-9428, swenson.1@osu.edu

Biology

Caroline Breitenberger, 260 Jennings Hall, 1735 Neil Avenue,  614-292-6945, breitenberger.1@osu.edu

Chemistry

Terry Gustafson, 100 Celeste Laboratory, 120 West 18th Avenue, 614-292-1204, gustafson.5@osu.edu

Classics

Julia Nelson-Hawkins (Spring 2018), 428 University Hall, 230 North Oval Mall, (for appointments, please email), hawkins.552@osu.edu

Communication

First Contact
Lisa M. Jerele, 3033D Derby Hall, 154 North Oval Mall, 614-292-8444, jerele.2@osu.edu

Second Contact
Susan Kline, 3106 Derby Hall, 154 North Oval Mall, 614-292-0464, kline.48@osu.edu

Comparative Studies

Philip Armstrong, 451 Hagerty Hall, 1775 College Road, (for appointments, please email), armstrong.202@osu.edu

Computer and Information Science

Jeremy Morris, 299 Dreese Labs, 2015 Neil Avenue, 614-688-5610, morris.343@osu.edu

Criminology and Criminal Justice Studies

Andrew W. Martin, 209 Townshend Hall, 1885 Neil Avenue, 614-247-6641, martin.1026@osu.edu

Data Analytics

Brooke O’Leary, 127 Pomerane Hall, 1760 Neil Avenue, 614-292-6961, oleary.158@osu.edu

Earth Sciences

Anne Carey, 275 Mendenhall Lab, 125 South Oval Mall, 614-292-2375, carey.145@osu.edu

East Asian Languages and Literatures (Chinese, Japanese, Korean) 

Pil Ho Kim, 379 Hagerty Hall, 1775 College Road, 614-688-5621, kim.2736@osu.edu

Economics

Lixin Ye, 410 Arps Hall, 1945 North High Street, 614-292-6883, ye.45@osu.edu

English

Students with names beginning with A-L please contact:
Cecilia C. Johnson, 421 Denney Hall, 164 Annie and John Glenn Avenue, 614-292-6065, johnson.2668@osu.edu

Students with names beginning with M-Z please contact:
MaryKatherine Ramsey, 421 Denney Hall, 164 Annie and John Glenn Avenue, 614-292-6065, ramsey.240@osu.edu

Evolution and Ecology

Ian Hamilton, 390 Aronoff Laboratory, 1318 West 12th Avenue, 614-292-9147, hamilton.598@osu.edu

Film Studies

Ryan Friedman, 150 Hagerty Hall, 1775 College Road, 614-292-6044, friedman.193@osu.edu

French

First Contact:
Sonya Afanasyeva, 200 Hagerty Hall, 1775 College Road, 614-292-4938, afanasyeva.1@osu.edu

Autumn Only:Patrick Bray, 223 Hagerty Hall, 1775 College Road, 614-292-4938, bray.49@osu.edu

Spring Only:Jennifer Willging, 200 Hagerty Hall, 1775 College Road, 614-292-4938, willging.1@osu.edu

Danielle Marx-Scouras (Spring 2018 only), 200 Hagerty Hall, 1775 College Road, 614-292-4938, marx-scouras.1@osu.edu

Geographic Information Science

Mathew Coleman, 1036 Derby Hall, 154 North Oval Mall, 614-292-9686, coleman.373@osu.edu

Nancy Coscia, 1105 Derby Hall, 154 North Oval Mall, 614-292-6961, coscia.4@osu.edu

Geography

Mathew Coleman, 1036 Derby Hall, 154 North Oval Mall, 614-292-9686, coleman.373@osu.edu

Nancy Coscia, 1105 Derby Hall, 154 North Oval Mall, 614-292-6961, coscia.4@osu.edu

German

Anna Grotans, 419 Hagerty Hall, 1775 College Road, (for appointments, please email), grotans.1@osu.edu

Globalization Studies

First Contact
Karlene Foster, 33 Townshend Hall, 1885 Neil Avenue, 614-292-9657, foster.24@osu.edu

Second Contact
Anthony Mughan, 33 Townshend Hall, 1885 Neil Avenue, 614-292-9657, mughan.1@osu.edu

Hebrew

Daniel Frank, 316 Hagerty Hall, 1775 College Road, 614-292-7494, frank.152@osu.edu

History

Ray Irwin, 222 Dulles Hall, 230 Annie and John Glenn Avenue, 614-292-6961, irwin.8@osu.edu

History of Art

Karl Whittington (Spring 2018), 5036 Smith Laboratory, 174 West 18th Avenue, 614-292-7481, whittington.78@osu.edu

Integrated Major in Math and English

Diana DeVol Bevilacqua, 231 W 18th Ave, MA 250, 614-292-6994, devol-bevilacqua.1@osu.edu

International Studies

First Contact
Karlene Foster, 33 Townshend Hall, 1885 Neil Avenue, 614-292-9657, foster.24@osu.edu

Second Contact
Anthony Mughan, 33 Townshend Hall, 1885 Neil Avenue, 614-292-9657, mughan.1@osu.edu

Islamic Studies

Autumn 2018
Ahmad Al-Jallad, 313 Hagerty Hall, 1775 College Road, 614-688-8661, al-jallad.1@osu.edu

Spring 2019
Sean W. Anthony, 323 Hagerty Hall, 1775 College Road, 614-688-8661, anthony.288@osu.edu

 

Italian

Janice Aski, 214 Hagerty Hall, 1775 College Road, 614-292-4938, aski.1@osu.edu

Jewish Studies

Daniel Frank, 316 Hagerty Hall, 1775 College Road, 614-292-7494, frank.152@osu.edu

Journalism

First Contact
Lisa M. Jerele, 3033D Derby Hall, 154 North Oval Mall, 614-292-8444, jerele.2@osu.edu

Second Contact
Gerald Kosicki, 3138 Derby Hall, 154 North Oval Mall, 614-292-9237, kosicki.1@osu.edu

Linguistics

Andrea Sims, 314 Oxley Hall, 1712 Neil Ave.,  614-292-8553, sims.120@osu.edu

Mathematics

First Contact
Athena Yiamouyiannis, 250 Mathematics Building, 231 West 18th Avenue, 614-292-6994, yiamouyiannis.1@osu.edu

Second Contact
Vitaly Bergelson, 410 Mathematics Building, 231 West 18th Avenue, 614-292-1180, bergelson.1@osu.edu

Medical Anthropology

Richard Yerkes, 4008 Smith Laboratory, 174 West 18th Avenue, (for appointments, please email), yerkes.1@osu.edu

Medieval and Renaissance Studies

Leslie Lockett, 421 Denney Hall, 164 Annie and John Glenn Avenue, 614-292-6065, lockett.20@osu.edu

Microbiology

Natacha Ruiz, 264 Aronoff Laboratory, 318 West 12th Avenue, 614-292-3426, ruiz.82@osu.edu

Modern Greek

Gregory Jusdanis, 414 University Hall, 230 North Oval Mall, 614-292-3785, jusdanis.1@osu.edu

Molecular Genetics

Students with names beginning with A-L please contact:
Harold Fisk, 216 Biological Sciences Building, 484 West 12th Avenue, 614-292-0318, fisk.13@osu.edu

Students with names beginning with M-Z please contact:
Anita K. Hopper, 800 Riffe Building, 496 West 12th Avenue, 614-688-3306, hopper.64@osu.edu

Neuroscience

Carroll (Charlie) Campbell, 10 Townshend Hall, 1885 Neil Avenue, 614-292-8512, campbell.601@osu.edu

Philosophy

Lisa Shabel, 337N University Hall, 230 North Oval Mall, 614-292-7914, shabel.1@osu.edu

Philosophy, Political Science, and Economics (PPE)

First Contact
Eric MacGilvray, 2026 Derby Hall, 1154 N Oval Mall, 614-292-3710, macgilvray.2@osu.edu

Second Contact
Piers Turner, 368 University Hall, 230 N Oval Mall, 614-292-7914, turner.894@osu.edu

Physics

First Contact
Lindsey Thaler, 1142 Physics Research Building, 191 West Woodruff Avenue, 614-247-1635, thaler.21@osu.edu

Second Contact
Robert Perry, 1040L Physics Research Building, 191 West Woodruff Avenue, 614-397-1031, perry.6@osu.edu

Political Science

First Contact
Charles Smith, 2140B Derby Hall, 154 North Oval Mall, 614-292-1484, smith.3280@osu.edu

Second Contact
Alexander Wendt, 2180 Derby Hall, 154 N. Oval Mall, 614-292-9219, wendt.23@osu.edu

Psychology

Freshmen and Juniors please contact:
Alisa Paulsen, 015 Psychology Building, 1835 Neil Avenue, (for appointments, please call 614-292-5750), paulsen.10@osu.edu

Sophomores and Seniors please contact:
Lisa Cravens-Brown, 235 Psychology Building, 1835 Neil Avenue, (for appointments, please call 614-292-5750), cravens-brown.1@osu.edu

Religious Studies

TBA

Romance Studies

(First Contact is Primary language Honors advisor) Second Contact:
Janice Aski, 214 Hagerty Hall, 1775 College Road, 614-292-4938, aski.1@osu.edu

Russian

Jennifer Suchland, 420 Hagerty Hall, 1775 College Road, (for appointments, please email), suchland.15@osu.edu

Sexuality Studies

Martin Joseph Ponce, 

Sociology

Andrew W. Martin, 209 Townshend Hall, 1885 Neil Avenue, 614-247-6641, martin.1026@osu.edu

Spanish and Portuguese

SPPO Academic Advisor and First Contact:
Rachel Sanabria, 355 Hagerty Hall, 1775 College Road, 614-292-8485, sanabria.3@osu.edu

Portuguese:
TBA

Latin American Literatures and Cultures:
Ana Del Sarto, 247 Hagerty Hall, 1775 College Road, 614-292-4958, del-sarto.1@osu.edu

Iberian Studies:
TBA

Hispanic Linguistics:
John Grinstead, 280 Hagerty Hall, 1775 College Road, 614-292-4958, grinstead.11@osu.edu

Speech and Hearing Science

Eric Healy, 134B Pressey Hall, 1070 Carmack Road, 614-247-8973, healy.66@osu.edu

Statistics

Eloise Kaizar, 221 Cockins Hall, 1958 Neil Avenue, 614-247-2585, kaizar.1@osu.edu

Theatre

Lesley Ferris, 1108 Drake Performance and Event Center, 1849 Cannon Drive, 614-292-5821, ferris.36@osu.edu

Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies

Guisela Latorre, 286H University Hall, 230 North Oval Mall, 614-247-7720, latorre.13@osu.edu

World Literatures

Ashley Perez, 225 Hagerty Hall, 1775 College Road, (for appointments, please email), perez.390@osu.edu

World Politics

First Contact
Charles Smith, 2140B Derby Hall, 154 North Oval Mall, 614-292-1484, smith.3280@osu.edu

Second Contact
Alexander Wendt, 2180 Derby Hall, 154 N. Oval Mall, 614-292-9219, wendt.23@osu.edu

Zoology

Thomas Hetherington, 300 Aronoff Laboratory, 318 West 12th Avenue, (for appointments, please email),  hetherington.1@osu.edu

 

0